BRBA Announces New Officers;
Installation Ceremony & Reception to take place Wednesday, Jan. 15

New leaders and officers of the Baton Rouge Bar Association will be installed during a ceremony and reception to be held Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014, beginning at 5 p.m. at the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Louisiana.


Being sworn in by Chief U.S. District Court Judge Brian A. Jackson as the 85th president of the BRBA will be Darrel Papillion, a partner of Walters Papillion Thomas Cullens, LLC.


Also being sworn in to the BRBA Board as officers are Robert J. "Bubby" Burns Jr. (president-elect); Jeanne C. Comeaux (treasurer); Karli Johnson (secretary); and Michael S. Walsh (past president). The 2014 Directors-at-large will be Shelton Dennis Blunt, Linda Law Clark, Christopher K. Jones, Melanie Newkome Jones, Amy C. Lambert and David Abboud Thomas.


The 2014 Officers and Council Members of the Young Lawyers Section of the Baton Rouge Bar Association include the following: Laranda Moffett Walker (chair); Scott M. Levy (chair-elect); Kara B. Kantrow (secretary); Scotty E. Chabert (past chair); Francisca Comeaux (council member); Grant J. Guillot (council member); Carrie LeBlanc Jones (council member); Mackenzie Smith Ledet (council member); and Loren D. Shanklin (council member).


Chairpersons and officers of various sections of the BRBA will also be sworn in during the installation ceremony, including Bankruptcy Section chair Erin Wilder-Doomes; Business/Corporate Law Section co-chairs Michael Platte and Trippe Hawthorne; Construction Law Section chair Matt Terrell and past chair Kelsey Funes; Family Law Section officers Joanna Hynes (chair); Anne Richey Myles (chair-elect); Jennifer M. Moisant (secretary); and Wendy L. Edwards (past chair); Public Law Practice Section chair Christopher K. Odinet; Danielle Clapinski (chair-elect); and Leonore Heavey (past chair).


The Workers’ Compensation Section co-chairs are Robin T. Krumholt, Debra T. Parker, Michelle M. Sorrells and Judge Pamela Moses-Laramore.